top of page

The syringe


It may have been five in the morning when I finally received Ana’s phone call. This feeling of loneliness was unbearable. It had been three hours that I was alone in this club. Not exactly alone. There were people around that came to dance, to hit on someone or others to have fun. In any case, some felt the need to spend this moment with alcohol, cigarettes but also drugs. It was in Italy, the last night that Ana and I were spending in Turin. The first two days we went in an electronic festival named Kappa Futur Festival. The place was incredible! It was an old big factory in the “Parco Dora”. I really tense being there with my best friend listening to my favourite dj in a country i had never been. We met so many nice people. The third day we saw Rihanna in concert. We were singing and dancing with her: Work, work, work… Finally, the last night, after a wonderful stay it was time to return in the small apartment that we had rented.
When I received her call, I made her understand that I wanted to go: "It’s been two hours that there are two guys who do not stop following me…I’m tired”. A few minutes later, she appeared from nowhere with a high burly and blond guy in contrast with his little innocent face that made me uncontrollably laugh. We went out. We could hear the sound of the river water in motion. Surrounded by trees we started walking towards the apartment when suddenly, Ana moaned. Something hurt her in the tip of her foot. She took this thing in her hand. I still remember her face changing, being terrified. It turns out that this thing was a syringe an addict had left on the floor. We started running looking for a hospital. There was this guys that Ana had met. He proposed to take us by car. When we arrived, thousands of questions tormented me. When we entered, there were around us so many wounded people between life and death. All this seemed so absurd to me. I didn’t understand why we were here.
Life is a succession of unexpected obstacles.

Ave.


Open a book and you will be unlimited

-ReesA

bottom of page