top of page

a crime story

The room was empty, the walls were splattered with blood and betrayal. Lila looked around the room, and down at herself. The look of confusion was clear on her face, she seemed to be searching for something, as if she could hear something no one else could, the room was empty, so no one else would’ve been able to hear anything really, but she seemed to be afraid. I unfortunately cannot read her thoughts, so I can’t tell you what she’s thinking.

“Wait, you can’t read my thoughts?” She asks, however her voice doesn’t seem to exist.

I cannot.

“Who are you?”

I do not have a name.

“How do you know my name?’

Your story was given to me.

“So you’re a narrator? of my life?”

Yes, however I find this setting is confusing. You see, your story starts in a strange way, I do not know what has happened in this room, or why I know of your presence in it, when no other character in this story would be able to know you’re here. It’s intriguing.

“I think I’m dead” Lila sighs, a small cloud of cold breath coming out from where her mouth should be, she continues, “I think this is supposed to be a crime story, you’re supposed to figure out the mystery of my murder”.

Interesting. Do you know who killed you?

“I don’t unfortunately. I think I was shot from behind”

I shift my position, so her back is facing me, I can see a through a small hole that goes through her skull. That explains the blood on the wall in front of us. I go back to my original position.

If I remember correctly, the wall is supposedly also splattered with betrayal. I’m guessing someone who you were close to did this. Do you know of anyone who would have wanted to kill you?

“Oh, I was widely disliked. I guess many people did”

You were betrayed. It cannot be someone you knew disliked you.

“I don’t know. I’d have to think about it”

My shift is about to end, We don’t have much time to solve this crime. Once the clock strikes seven, I’m closing this case.

“You mean you won’t be continuing my story?”

I won’t.

“What is going to happen to me?”

I don’t know. I’ve never been able to talk to a character before.

“Can you not turn back time and make me live again?”

I guess I could, but where would be the fun in that?

Lila starts to cry, but no tears come out. I’m starting to feel sorry for her, and I’m running out of time, I need to finish this story. I guess I could help her out, maybe I could create the culprit.

Lila, Do you remember your best friend Rachel?

“Oh, I do now! What about Rachel?”

She did this. She killed you.

“No way! Why?”

She was jealous of you, she wanted to have your job and knew that if you died she would be offered your position.

“I can’t believe it! I loved Rachel.”

I’m sorry.

The clock strikes 7.

Goodbye Lila. Good luck.

I make Lila disappear, and a small note appears on the floor of the room. On it “Rachel” is written in big, bold letters.

Open a book and you will be unlimited

-ReesA

bottom of page